This site is intended for health professionals only

New executive chair named for Institute for Healthcare Management

New executive chair named for Institute for Healthcare Management
By Rebecca Gilroy Reporter
2 October 2019

Professor James Kingsland has been appointed executive chair of a newly formed board at the Institute of Healthcare Management (IHM).

Former chair and president of the National Association of Primary Care, Professor Kingsland has occupied a number of leadership roles in his career and has been credited for his efforts in setting up primary care networks.

Professor Kingsland, a GP from Merseyside, said: ‘I am delighted to have been appointed as the IHM’s executive chair. This is a great opportunity to develop an organisation with a rich history that pre-dates the NHS. We are incredibly fortunate to have a broad range of talent and experience working within and supporting the IHM, with colleagues from across the health and social care sectors, and from diverse professional backgrounds.

‘I’m very much looking forward to working with the board members and management team to develop and grow the Institute for the benefit of our members.’

Alongside being a GP, Professor Kingsland has served in an advisory capacity at the Department of Health and Social Care, the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence and the Care Quality Commission.

Interim chief executive Loretta Outhwaite, who has been in the position since March this year, will now be taking up a non-executive board role from 1 November.

On Professor Kingsland’s appointment, she said: ‘It has been an absolute privilege to have worked with the IHM as Interim CEO. I have been overwhelmed by the enthusiasm of our members and partner organisations, and by the support they have given to me personally and to our team, as we develop and grow the Institute.

‘I’m very much looking forward to continuing to use my experience and passion in a non-executive role, to enable us to provide our members – health and social care managers – with the resources and support they need to be at their best.’

Professor Kingsland will take on the post and the responsibility of the new board, which will include Katie Armstrong, Paul Batchelor, Seema Buckley, Wayne Farah, Nicholas Hicks, Becky Meadows, Niti Pall, Katherine Sheerin and Samantha Sherrington.

Want news like this straight to your inbox?

Related articles