This site is intended for health professionals only

Merger between three North Yorkshire CCGs given the thumbs up

By Isabel Shaw
15 November 2019

Share this story:

NHS England has approved the merger of three North Yorkshire CCGs – a move that is hoped will improve the population health of the area.

NHS Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby CCG, NHS Harrogate and Rural District CCG and NHS Scarborough and Ryedale CCG will merge to become the North Yorkshire CCG as of 1 April 2020 and will serve a registered population of 427,100.

Accountable officer for the three CCGs, Amanda Bloor, said the merger will make it ‘easier’ to reduce some of the health inequalities across the county,  and ‘respond consistently to the needs of our population.’

Charles Parker, GP and chair designate of North Yorkshire CCG said: ‘North Yorkshire CCG will retain the existing commitment to strong clinical leadership and focus on the needs of local people, drawing on best practice from learning across [the area].’

The merger follows reviews carried out by each of the three North Yorkshire CCGs last year and hopes to improve the way that the CCGs work together and deliver for local people. 

According to an NHS statement, the single organisation will provide a more agile and responsive service that maintains a local focus but enables them to obtain better value for money by commissioning at scale.

It also hopes to reduce administrative costs to enable more investment in front line health services. 

Last month, GP leaders in Essex warned that CCG integration would make commissioners more distant from the practices and will reduce support for primary care networks.

Healthcare Leader CCG survey

Take part in our CCG evaluation survey to win £100 John Lewis vouchers

Take the survey >

Want news like this straight to your inbox?

Related news

Monkeypox contacts should isolate and receive smallpox vaccine
The closest contacts of monkeypox cases should self-isolate for three weeks, the UK Health Security...
NHS has begun work on national vaccination service
A ‘long-term NHS vaccination service’ is now under development, NHS England documents have revealed. In...