This site is intended for health professionals only

GPs recognised with New Year Honours

GPs recognised with New Year Honours
By Anna Colivicchi
2 January 2024

A number of GPs have been recognised for their achievements and contributions to the profession in the King’s New Year Honours list.

A total of eight current and former GPs made the list, which recognises ‘the achievements and service of extraordinary people’ across the country.

Dr Chandra Kanneganti, a GP at Goldenhill Medical Centre and North Staffordshire LMC chair was awarded a CBE for services to general practice.

Former BMA president Dr Amritpal Singh Hungin, an emeritus professor of general practice at Newcastle University, received a knighthood for services to medicine.

He said: ‘Being a doctor is a privilege. This honour is the result of many people working together.

‘My profound thanks to Durham and Newcastle universities and to my practice-based colleagues for their support and commitment to patient care.’

Dr Meenakshi Nagpaul, a GP at Honeypot Medical Centre and clinical director at Harrow East PCN was awarded an MBE for services to the NHS.

Similarly, Dr Donald Murray Cruickshank, a GP in Upper Deeside, was also awarded a MBE for services to the medical profession and to the community of Braemar, Aberdeenshire.

Four GPs were also awarded BME:

  • Dr Fiona Butler, a GP and clinical director of Brompton Health PCN, for services to the community in West London
  • Dr Catherine Marian Hubbert, a Macmillan GP and founder of Woodlands Hospice Charitable Trust, for services to Palliative Care
  • Dr Terry Martin John, a former GP at The Firs Medical Centre in London and former chair of Chair of the BMA International Committee, for services to medicine
  • Dr Jane Wilcock, chair of the RCGP’s North West Faculty and formerly a GP at Silverdale Medical Practice, Swinton, for services to general practice

NHS chief executive Amanda Pritchard said it was ‘wonderful to see so many of our colleagues honoured for the contribution they’ve made’.

She added: ‘Whether leading improvements in nursing, mental health and paediatric surgery, tackling health inequalities or delivering life-saving critical care, the difference that each of those honoured has made for patients is immense.

‘I know millions of people across the country will join me in expressing our gratitude to them, and to all of our staff, who continue to go above and beyond every day to deliver the best possible care for patients.’

Last year, former chair and president of the RCGP Professor Mayur Lakhani was knighted for services to general practice in the New Year Honours.

This story first appeared on our sister title, Pulse.

Want news like this straight to your inbox?

Related articles