This site is intended for health professionals only

General Practice Awards 2019 open for entries

General Practice Awards 2019 open for entries
By Gemma Collins
23 April 2019

The General Practice Awards 2019 have opened for entries.

The awards, currently in their 11th year, recognise initiative and achievement by professionals across the primary care sector.

Organised by Management in Practice publisher Cogora, the General Practice Awards culminate in a black tie awards ceremony to be held at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London hotel on Friday, 29 November.

The awards are divided into healthcare professional and supplier categories.

The healthcare professional awards include Healthcare Leader of the Year – last year won by GP Dr Tom Milligan, GP partner at Practice One in Bridlington and GP primary care lead for East Riding of Yorkshire CCG – General Practitioner of the Year; the Lifetime Achievement Award; GP Trainee of the Year/Rising Star Award; and GP Team of the Year Award.

The awards – for which general practice teams and professionals can put themselves forward or be nominated by someone else – this year also includes a series of new categories.

Among these is Primary Care Network of the Year for primary care networks successfully working at scale, and three Clinical Improvement Awards: for Chronic Conditions, Mental Health, and Public Health and Prevention.

These new awards will recognise the achievements of an individual or a team that has respectively demonstrated excellence in caring for patients with chronic conditions; enhanced mental health services in their local area; and worked to improve the health of the population in their area.

Another category making its debut in 2019 is Extended Practice Team Member.

This award highlights members of the wider primary care team – such as pharmacists, physician associates, paramedics, mental health practitioners and social prescribing link workers – who have made a significant contribution to their practice or local area.

All general practice professionals are eligible for the Lifetime Achievement Award – last year won by Val Hempsey, practice manager and partner at Bridges Medical Practice in Gateshead, Tyne and Wear.

The awards also comprise the People’s Choice Award: Surgery of the Year. Introduced in 2018, this category gives those outside of the healthcare sector – patients and the local community – the opportunity to nominate their practice as the outstanding surgery of 2019.

Like the GP Team of the Year award, the People’s Choice category aims to recognise the excellent work done by an entire practice and every member of its team.

For a full list of categories, and information on and links to how to enter, click here. The healthcare professional categories cost £35+VAT to enter, with applications submitted via an online form.

Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award should be submitted via email to the General Practice Awards team.

Deadline for entries is 31 May, with the shortlist announced and tickets for the awards night released on 2 September.

The People’s Choice awards opens for voting to the public on 1 July, remaining open until 16 August.

Head to to complete an entry and put yourself, a colleague, your team or your practice forward for one of the 2019 General Practice Awards.

Want news like this straight to your inbox?

Related articles