This site is intended for health professionals only

Dr Joe McGilligan

Former chair, NHS East Surrey CCG (ESyDoc) and chair of The Commissioning Review editorial board. LGA health and wellbeing champion and executive board member of NAPC and member of NPCN.

Joe qualified in Birmingham in 1990 and has wide medical experience including time as a flying doctor in Australia.  He is a GP partner at Greystone House Medical Practice in Redhill, Surrey, and has a special interest in Minor Surgery. 
 

Articles by this author

Tue 7 March
Tue 7 March
Mon 27 June
Mon 27 June
Chair of The Commissioning Review says: "Whatever happens now life will certainly be very different for the health and social care system"
Fri 22 April
Fri 22 April
The chair of The Commissioning Review wants leaders to be brave and make changes to the NHS before it is to late
Tue 9 February
Tue 9 February
Chair of The Commissioning Review outlines why being innovative is important in the NHS, but emphasises that it should be the frontline workers that enable change
Mon 28 December
Mon 28 December
Joe McGilligan gives his thoughts on the funding process for general practice
Mon 19 October
Mon 19 October
The chair of The Commissioning Review editorial board wants caring for patients to come before NHS budgets
Tue 28 July
Tue 28 July
Pilotitis is the disease plaguing the NHS says the chair of The Commissioning Review
Mon 11 May
Mon 11 May
It makes not a blind bit of difference who won the general election because politicians do not understand how the health service works, nor the values or motivation of the staff that work in the NHS.
Thu 23 April
Thu 23 April
How can commissioners maintain oversight of patients post referral? East Surrey’s inflammatory bowel disease pathway provides one example
Thu 23 April
Thu 23 April
The chair of The Commissioning Review looks at how NHS branding has changed since 1948
Mon 23 February
Mon 23 February
The chair of The Commissioning Review editorial board unpicks the cascade of events that led to the A&E crisis
Mon 8 December
Mon 8 December
The chair of The Commissioning Review editorial board explains the need for good value healthcare for all
Wed 3 September
Wed 3 September
The chair of The Commissioning Review editorial board reflects on how the NHS compares with health systems internationally
Wed 4 June
Wed 4 June
Joint working with the pharmaceutical industry has enabled East Surrey CCG to deliver better outcomes in alcohol-related illnesses.
Wed 28 May
Wed 28 May
Dr Joe McGilligan outlines his vision for the NHS in five years time and the risks of being innovative in a conservative culture
Thu 3 April
Thu 3 April
The Health and Social Care Act wasn’t just a “rearranging of the deck chairs” but a chance to make a concrete difference to patient care, CCG chair and HWB co-chair Dr Joe McGilligan argues
Wed 12 February
Wed 12 February
CCG chair and joint health and wellbeing board chair Dr Joe McGilligan has fully bought into the NHS post-Health and Social Care Act. But have all the changes made a difference?
Mon 2 September
Mon 2 September
From 'I told you so' to 'Now what?' - CCG lead Dr Joe McGilligan explains the hard process of getting over losing your CSU
Tue 18 June
Tue 18 June
East Surrey CCG chair Dr Joe McGilligan explains why he feels innovative programmes are viewed with 'suspicion' and how CCGs can get around that
Wed 22 May
Wed 22 May
Health and wellbeing boards could potentially be the powerhouse of the new NHS – as long as decision making is transparent