This site is intended for health professionals only

Carolyn Wickware

Reporter

Articles by this author

Fri 27 October
Fri 27 October
An investigation into the WannaCry cyberattack on NHS computers found that it 'could have been prevented by the NHS following basic IT security best practice'.
Thu 26 October
Thu 26 October
Annual spending by local authorities on social care has risen by £556m in 2016/17 to £17.5bn
Tue 24 October
Tue 24 October
Commissioners in Manchester are encouraging GPs to test patients' blood before prescribing antibiotics in an effort to decrease the risk of antibiotic resistance
Fri 20 October
Fri 20 October
Extra funding for the NHS will ‘never ever’ improve healthcare inequalities, the chief executive of Public Health England has said
Wed 18 October
Wed 18 October
The NHS has lost nearly four million hospital bed days since 2011 because of problems in social care, an analysis by charity Age UK has revealed.
Fri 13 October
Fri 13 October
NHS England is considering pilots to stop walk-in patients attending A&E departments, requiring them to be referred by a GP or NHS 111.
Wed 11 October
Wed 11 October
Two thirds of vacant radiologist positions have been unfilled for a year or more, according to figures released by the Royal College of Radiologists.
Wed 11 October
Wed 11 October
More than 90% of health and care leaders have said they are ‘concerned’ about their organisation’s ability to cope with demand this winter, according to a survey by NHS Confederation
Tue 10 October
Tue 10 October
One in 10 doctors recruited under NHS England’s drive to hire GPs from the EU are likely to drop out, a GP leader has said.
Mon 9 October
Mon 9 October
The CQC has found that Cornwall’s health and social care system ‘is not working well together’.
Fri 6 October
Fri 6 October
Four NHS hospital trusts have become the first to introduce a new digital portal allowing patients to receive and respond to appointment letters digitally
Thu 5 October
Thu 5 October
Up to 15% of NHS 111 callers could benefit from using artificial intelligence apps instead, according to early findings from the NHS 111 online pilots
Wed 4 October
Wed 4 October
A green paper on child and adolescent mental health services (CAMHS) is set to be released ‘in the coming weeks’, a health minister has said
Tue 3 October
Tue 3 October
NHS staff will be given ‘first refusal’ on affordable homes built on former NHS land, the health secretary has announced
Mon 2 October
Mon 2 October
Bed occupancy rates in mental health trusts have risen to 94% in four years as the number of beds falls by 15%, according to a report from the Centre for Mental Health
Thu 28 September
Thu 28 September
The total number of NHS hospital beds in England has more than halved in the last 30 years, according to a new report from The King’s Fund
Thu 28 September
Thu 28 September
NHS England held its September board meeting today. Here are few things to come out of the meeting
Wed 27 September
Wed 27 September
NHS Vale of York CCG is giving local GPs control over the prescribing budget in an effort to balance the books.
Tue 26 September
Tue 26 September
The NHS needs £500m to boost hospital capacity ahead of looming winter pressures, Labour’s shadow health secretary will say today.
Mon 25 September
Mon 25 September
The number of patients waiting in A&E for over 12 hours has increased by 10,546% in the last five years, according the Royal College of Emergency Medicine.